跳到主要内容

版本管理

KubeEdge 目前大约每三个月会发布一个版本。

release cycle

发布过程可被认为有四个阶段:

  • 特性定义 (第1~2周)

    根据全年RoadMap,确定当前版本的需求列表。在这两周中,SIG Release 会联合社区用户与开发者共同制定版本需求,规划新版本特性列表。同时Milestone也会被创建并运用起来,来保证SIG Release团队可以跟踪特性与问题修复工作。

  • 特性开发 (第3~10周)

    特性开发阶段从版本周期的第三周延续至第十周。社区开发人员按照计划进行特性开发与问题修复。每周的社区会议和各个SIG会议沟通讨论,确保有效的工作协调和跟踪进度。

  • 代码冻结与问题修复 (第11周)

    第11周开始进行代码冻结。创建版本分支,版本发布周期进入最后的测试阶段。在此阶段只接受bugfix的PR合并到版本分支中。为确保版本分支的稳定性,不再合并特性代码。

  • 版本发布 (第12周)

    完成前三个阶段后,版本进入最后的发布准备阶段。社区通过进行测试、文档和版本Changelog来准备正式发布。随后,最终版本正式发布并可供公众使用。

当代码库足够稳定时,主分支将开放进行开发,并从开始下一个版本的工作。 当前版本的任何修改都是从 master 分支cherry-pick回版本分支。发布版本是从版本release分支构建的。

每个版本都是更广泛的 KubeEdge 生命周期的一部分:

release lifecycle

Skip to main content

Release Management

KubeEdge releases currently happen approximately every three months.

release cycle

The release process can be thought of as having four main phases:

  • Feature Definition (Week 1~2)

    With ongoing feature definition through the year, some set of items will bubble up as targeting a given release. During the initial two weeks, feature work for the given release is defined in suitable planning artifacts in conjunction with SIG Release Team. Milestone is created adn applied correctly so that SIG Release Team can track enhancements and bugs.

  • Feature Work (Week 3~10)

    Features Development phase spans form the third week to the tenth week of the release cycle. Community developers actively engage in implementing the planned features and enhancements. Weekly community meetings and each SIG meeting are held to ensure effective coordination and progress tracking.

  • Code Freeze and Bug Fixing (Week 11)

    Code Freeze starts in week 11. A release branch are created and release cycle enters into the final testing stage. Only bug fixes are accepted into the release codebase during this time. Feature code cannot be merged anymore to ensure stability of the release branch.

  • Release (Week 12)

    Once the first three phases are comleted, the release branch enters the final stage. The community prepares for the official release by conducting thorough testing and ensuring documentation and release notes are up-to-date. Following this, the final version is officially released and made available for public use.

When the code base is sufficiently stable, the master branch opens for general development and work begins there for the next release milestone. Any remaining modifications for the current release are cherry picked from master back to the release branch. The release is built from the release branch.

Each release is part of a broader KubeEdge lifecycle:

release lifecycle